What are the Five Stages of Divorce? What to Know About the Emotional Process You May Be Dealing With

There are five stages of divorce that everyone needs to know about. Not married? Hold up! Before you think this is not for you. Know this. The definition of divorce is not only for married couples who are no longer married to each other. Divorce involves breaking away from a relationship so the individuals affected can find their better selves. It is a solution best served at that moment and needs to be treated and handled with care and proper guidance. But, even though it is the best solution, it doesn’t make it easy. So what are the five stages of divorce?

What are the five stages of divorce?

Many have tried to divorce their marriage, business partners, or friendships. But because the proper steps were unknown, things went wrong. Here is what you need to know about divorce and how to handle it. 

Now that you know divorce is not limited to marriages alone, here are the five stages that divorce mostly passes through.

1 Denial: 

This is the first stage of divorce, and it is the stage where the participants have not accepted that the divorce is the current situation. They, or maybe only one of the individuals, find it hard to believe this is the current situation. 

Therefore, they try to compromise and manage the situation. One of the common questions asked in this stage is, ‘Isn’t there anything else we can do to solve this?’

2 Anger: 

The second stage is anger, where communication is lost between individuals. There are pent-up emotions, and instead of solving the issues, the feelings begin to fester. This is also the stage where the individuals become destructive to each other, saying things that they don’t necessarily mean but are hurtful to the other person. 

3 Bargaining: 

Next, the participants start to ask that their partner might not do that if they do this. Instead of tackling the issue, they look for alternative ways to solve the problem, which, at this point, is already too late. 

4 Depression: 

All genders suffer depression at the fourth stage of divorce. However, it is felt more by the men in the circle. Yet, men don’t show their feelings by crying. They can either get wrapped up in work, not want to deal with the topic by avoiding the conversation or drink themselves into a stupor. Others even adopt the anything-you-say card.

5 Acceptance: 

This is the last stage of divorce. Many people spend too much time in the fourth stage and may not even reach the final stage. However, you are not done until you have completed all the stages. Acceptance is most important because you become free and happy, and you can now move on to become a better version of yourself. 

What to remember about the stages of divorce:

Regardless of the stages of divorce you are in, you need to be able to prepare for your life ahead. After a divorce, ensure that you take the necessary actions to prepare for the way forward. Look into some of your documents that need to be altered and make the changes. The first document to look into is your will. If the person you have divorced has anything to do with your will, update the name to the new person. Adjust your medical and financial power of attorney to the recent persons.

Most divorced people are not initially angry. Most of them are just disappointed in how the relationship turned out. Being aware of the stages helps you better control yourself from the negative sides and towards the positive sides for a more profitable result. 

GEt BWCDaily - Sign up now

Don’t miss out on motivation, education, inspiration…

Verified by MonsterInsights